We used to have a mighty Hawk visit our yard in Richmond, VA. Our pictures were not as clear or detailed as these, and I do not know what kind of Hawk. It was cool just being in “his” presence as he surveyed our yard looking for a snack.

Day by Day the Farm Girl Way...

For the past five years, I have enjoyed putting bird feeders out and watching the variety of winter birds that visit them from my kitchen window. Before that, my feeder placements of seeds, nuts, and berries was a bit more haphazard. Back then, I simply placed seed trays on or near the back porch (where I keep a heated bird bath filled with fresh water) and hung a few thistle feeders on shepherd hooks nearby. But eventually, I realized I did not spend enough time on the back porch observing the birds in the chill of winter to make the effort worth my while. Also, the bird poop that whitewashed the decking of the back porch soon became quite a nuisance to clean up. Consequently, I had to rethink the whole bird feeding idea.

IMG_9430 This is the view from my kitchen and computer room windows. The elm tree laying on its side in the neighbor’s yard is still very alive and prolific!…

View original post 1,288 more words

