Greetings from The Lioness. The following post is a REBLOG of a post from April 2012.

Greetings from The Lioness.  I have not been posting as many pictures as usual because I have been devoting more time to learning how to market my greeting cards on-line.  Some of you may have already seen a few my cards, as I have posted samples from my E Store on Etsy.com.  For those who are unfamiliar with Etsy, this is a hugely popular and successful website created for Artisans and sellers of a wide variety of “stuff” (many are artists of handmade products), who sell their creations online.  This sounds reasonable, yes?

Guess what?  At this moment Etsy reports they now have available 13,121,316 items posted for sale! (UPDATE: As of today, 9/23/13 # of items posted is 21,628,529!)  That covers ALL items.  In my category, there are a mere 246,341 items under Paper Goods. (Update: Today that # is 874,627) If we drill down further to Greeting Cards, the total here is ONLY 67,348 individual cards listed for sale! (Today, 142,681) I assume you now understand why I have been busy trying to figure out the secrets to getting discovered on Etsy! There are excellent tutorials and selling guides available on Etsy to help you be successful.  There are marketing companies offering to help you “get discovered” by improving your rank on search engines, in directories and back links, all to improve my Google page rank.  A must read is ” Da Etsy Code” By Sarah Beattie, a Marketing person I met online.

I have taken advantage of Etsy’s Search Ad feature.  I decide how much I want to spend each week, for the items I designate, to be featured on the first page, when someone searches for that item.  I have been posting my cards on Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, Stumble Upon and Tumblr.   Sarah added my shop to Search Engines and Directories that help people find my cards.  I am elated to report I have completed several sales, but not as many as I would like.  As a result, I am doing some self-promotion (gasp) in order to get the word out that my cards are not just any card.  I acknowledge, I have not re-invented the wheel here.  I have selected some of my photographs and created a line of Art Cards.   I want people to have an opportunity to discover them.  I am sure they are not everyone’s “cup of cards”, but just maybe I’m wrong, and I am on the road to find out!

I have updated the section called “About The Lioness” to explain a little more about me and my craft.  If you would like even more info about my shop, CardTales By The Lioness, click on “About the Lioness”, at the top of the front page.

Happy Card Hunting from The Lioness!

Here is a link to my Shop:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/cardtales

